Skilaboðaskjóða Ættfræðifélagsins

Leggðu inn fyrirspurnir sem aðrir notendur vefsins geta ef til vill svarað --- einnig lesið yfir af félögum Ættfræðifélagsins reglulega.

Skilaboðaskjóða Ættfræðifélagsins
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Jon Sigurdsson (Sivertsen)

I am new to this geneaology stuff so I would appreciate any help that you could provide.

One of my Father's relatives apparently emigrated from Iceland to Denmark in the late 1700's or early 1800's. His name was Jon Sigurdson, but for some reason changed his name to Sivertsen when in Denmark. I think that he was born in Reikjevik. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks, Ole

Re: Jon Sigurdsson (Sivertsen)

Hej Ole

We have to have som more information because Jon Sigurdsson are verry common name in Iceland.

How where Jon Sigurdsson and your father related?

Regards ThT

Du maa godt skrive paa dansk.

--- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- ---

Replying to:

I am new to this geneaology stuff so I would appreciate any help that you could provide.

One of my Father's relatives apparently emigrated from Iceland to Denmark in the late 1700's or early 1800's. His name was Jon Sigurdson, but for some reason changed his name to Sivertsen when in Denmark. I think that he was born in Reikjevik. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks, Ole

Re: Re: Jon Sigurdsson (Sivertsen)

Thank you for the prompt reply! It gives me a little hope of actually finding some more information about my family. Here is more detail that I think I know.

Jon Siggurdson (Sigurdson?) was born in Iceland approx. 1720, and married a woman named Margrethe. He had two sons, John Frederick and Pjetur. Pjetur apparently stayed in Iceland when Jon and his son John Frederick emigrated to Denmark. Jon was a clockmaker who installed the Astronomical clock in Kronborg.