Kerr / Buggs Island Visitors Fishing Reports

This message board has been closed, please visit our
new board by clicking here.

Kerr / Buggs Island Visitors Fishing Reports
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
TURTLES

Im researching some facts for a piece Im working on (writer) and have some questions maybe some of you can help with: Ive been coming to the lake for many many years, and when I was a kid, snappin turtles as big as trashcan lids were easy to find. My Grandpa and I used to run a small trotline and we'd catch em every so often. Mean and nasty things...but pretty cool to a 10 year old kid! Thing is, over the last several years, I havent been seeing em like I used to. SOmetimes, I could go in the back of a cove and see a log chock full of BIG turtles out sunnin'. Where'd they go?! I still see some little ones, but not nearly as many as before. Anyone got any ideas on the subject? Also, Im interested in finding some local experts/collectors of Ockonneechee Indians. Appreciate the tips guys and really think this board is the best at fishing info and just plain good folks. (Buggsman needs a little refresher in suthun' manners and grace. Dont bite the hand that feeds ya, Buggs ....one day, you may be stranded on the lake and one of US will be in a position to help...or not. Course, the people on here WILL help, but youll have to eat some crow to get it!! )

Re: TURTLES

judge tisdale has a very nice collection from the okee.indains.i will see if they are still there and let you know also dr. shelton in boydton had some to.

Try MacCallumore Gardens in Chase City, they have an indian museum. But I don't know the hours. 372-0502

Also try the Oconeechee state park visitor center.

Snappin' turtles is good eats!

Thanks for the indian leads....appreciate it! And yep...them turtles IS good eats!! Still looking for anyones experiences with em. Youll recieve a credit if its any good!!