Kerr / Buggs Island Visitors Fishing Reports

This message board has been closed, please visit our
new board by clicking here.

Kerr / Buggs Island Visitors Fishing Reports
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Any luck catching catfish on Sat night?

Just wondering if anybody had any luck Saturday night? I fished the bridges, mouth of Bluestone and Buffalo. Nothing.

Re: Any luck catching catfish on Sat night?

My son and I fished the Clarksville Bridge Saturday the 9th. We caught 9 Blues over 8lbs and about 10 @ 5 lbs. We went looking for Stripers but found not takers that is when we went back and fished the Bridge..
I know to you guys that catch the 20-30 lbers these are small but we had a ball....4 on at once the penn reels were singing.

Largest Fish was about 11lbs caught on a bream.

We loaded the bait tank down at 5:30 am....I am new at this we caught lots of shad around the pump house also a longer bait fish @ 6-8 inches long. What are these?
These seemed to be the bait of choice for the larger blues.
Also what causes the nostrils and underbelly of the shad to turn blood red????????? Did I have to much rock salt in the bait tank....

Thanks for you help guys My son said that he had the most fun Saturday fishing he has ever had in his life
Lord knows this day and time I want to do anything to keep him busy and away from the wrong influences.
Thanks and God Bless.

I re-posted this from the Green Fish lights post I submitted earlier.

The larger bait fish are more than likely shad, i have caught some up to 14", and heard of some people catching some larger. The red in the head end of the bait comes from lack of o2 i beleive.
also good post!

Good Luck!
Mike

BB, the red noses are stress. Its pretty hard to get too much salt, shad love salty water. Its possible but I doubt it.