Kerr / Buggs Island Visitors Fishing Reports

This message board has been closed, please visit our
new board by clicking here.

Kerr / Buggs Island Visitors Fishing Reports
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Boat Traffic Tomorrow - 4/18

Thinking about taking the new boat out tomorrow for its maiden voyage. Total newbie at launching/loading. Was wondering if I can expect much ramp traffic tomorrow during the daytime near Clarksville. I don't want to be a ramp hog.

I will be going out tonight and practicing driving and backing up at my work parking lot.

Re: Boat Traffic Tomorrow - 4/18

I would be carefull around Clarksville after all that rain, anything could be floating in the water.

Does that apply to the whole lake? Or is there an area you can recommend.

Thanks for the heads up.

JPritch,Welcome to the wonderful world of boating. It is unlikely that you will run into a huge crowd tomorrow on the ramp. As a new enthusiast to the boating community you will find that there are all kinds of people represented in the boating community. Most will be courteous and patient. At one time , everyone of us was new to it. We have all jackknifed our trailers backing up, pulled forward and backward many times as we learn, forgot to remove all straps from our boats, and certainly forgot to plug our boats.All of which are recoverable, and most of which will draw some laughs. Very rarely will someone show their impatience. I suggest you actually take a 3 x 5 card and list the steps briefly you need to follow. 1. remove straps. 2. check plug 3. check rope etc. This is a very simple method of forming the habit of following a routine. After a few launches you will need no card. Good luck to ya. Chris

Just read the press release from US Army COE. Bummer.

Thanks for the info Chris.

I've been trying to read as much as I can about ramp ettiquette. Doing all the prep work and loading gear away from the ramp, and then getting ready for travel away from the ramp as well.