Hodaka Forum

Welcome to the Hodaka Forum.
Our mission is to provide a forum for questions, suggestions, tips, and discussions related to Hodaka motorcycles.

Like true "Hodaddies", please be responsible, friendly and helpful and keep content "G"-rated, as it will be available to children and child-like adults....

Happy trails to you ....
Steve Streeper
IdahoSteve
Arco, Idaho
PS - I'm a motorcycle NOVICE, but will be happy to help answer questions if possible. I'm relying on YOU guys to provide the expertise!

Forum:

Hodaka Forum

Start a New Topic 
   Board|Threaded
Author
Comment
How many 175 Hodakas were made?

I picked up a motorcycle I bought on e-bay and when I went there the guy had some old bikes laying outside on the hill. They were in nasty shape and I hate buying bikes left laying outside in the snow and dirt for years. However what was laying there was a 175 hodaka so I bought it for $40. Both tires were froze up it was tough to get it in my truck but I did.
It was the ruffest looking bike I ever bought. When I got it home. I got the tires free so it would roll and took off the stator cover just to see what that looked like. Not to bad, then I put a wrench on the stator nut to see how froze up the engine was and to
my surprise.....It was not froze!
I have a good 250 ED and a SL bottom end. Are they the same as the 175? This one had the clutch cover off and water ran out of it when it was stood up. The tranny must be pretty bad. How many 175s were made?
The pipe, frame, gas tank are fine or repairable.
Bill .

Email  
Re: How many 175 Hodakas were made?

It seems like I have heard that 600 of the 175's were manufactured. It IS a pretty rare bike. Lots of engine items are the same as the 250's - but obviously not all.

I think it is definitely a good thing that you "saved" it!!!!

Ed