Hodaka Forum

Welcome to the Hodaka Forum.
Our mission is to provide a forum for questions, suggestions, tips, and discussions related to Hodaka motorcycles.

Like true "Hodaddies", please be responsible, friendly and helpful and keep content "G"-rated, as it will be available to children and child-like adults....

Happy trails to you ....
Steve Streeper
IdahoSteve
Arco, Idaho
PS - I'm a motorcycle NOVICE, but will be happy to help answer questions if possible. I'm relying on YOU guys to provide the expertise!

Forum:

Hodaka Forum

Start a New Topic 
   Board|Threaded
Author
Comment
Super Rat 71

I just purchased a 71 Super Rat with frame 57571 and engine M7742. Are these correct numbers for the bike? Everything appears original including paint, it does have a little pitting on the some of the chrome on the bars and a small chrome blemish on the tank with small amount of pitting. Most polished out with Mothers. I'v e seen a few pics with the placards on the rear that display the race numbers, those are missing but as far I can tell everything else is there and original. Paint cleaned up as new with only a few scuff marks. I think it may even have the original tires which were flat but when I pumped them up they seem to be holding air.
I have not tried to start it yet the spark plug was missing and when I removed the tank to polish and to clean the foam holding fell apart. I replaced with a car sponge. The clutch hand lever is missing, the bracket is there so I need to find one of those.
Few question:
1)How much and what type of oil do these hold, I drained the oil in it which really stunk and replaced with a couple of pints of 30 and was going to push it around a bit since it's stuck in gear and then drain that. Any suggestions?
2)The gas tank is full of rust chips, I poured some gas and shook it some and poured out. I thought I would pick up some bb's and shack them in it and then coat with some sort of tank lining product.